We turn industrial buildings into your competitive advantage.
Using clever solutions specially developed for the foodstuffs industry.

IE_food_3

Services


We plan and execute industrial building projects for the foodstuffs industry, in which production processes, building services and architecture are optimally coordinated. We guarantee that, even on unfavourable plot configurations and for structures organically matured over decades, enormous leaps in efficiency are possible.

Our strength: we understand your business because we employ architects and engineers with a wealth of experience in the foodstuffs industry under their belts. This enables us to create industrial buildings that deserve the name: a building that is optimally coordinated with the production processes – and thus becomes a machine in its own right.


Our range of services


  • LOGISTICS
  • HYGIENE AND CLEAN ROOMS
  • SUSTAINABILITY

IE plans and implements efficient logistics systems for industrial enterprises. We are not tied to specific suppliers’ products, but instead, as a neutral partner, consistently search for the best solution for our customers – whether selecting the conveying technology, warehouse systems or appropriate software. With our one-stop operational and construction planning, we ensure that the goods and personnel fluxes are optimally coordinated with both production processes and the building.

Contact person
Thomas Hanhart | Logistics Manager

IE ensures the necessary production hygiene and cleanliness are adhered to. We compile holistic hygiene and zoning concepts based on the respective product and process. Where cleanliness demands are stricter, we plan and build process-specific controlled areas and clean rooms – on request GMP-compliant and including complete training. Holistic planning allows us to focus on product reliability and operating costs.

Contact person
Stephan Fischer | Hygiene and Clean Room Manager

IE develops energy- and resource-saving concepts. We engage where the greatest potential for more sustainability in industrial buildings is found: in the production processes and the efficient design of all upstream and downstream processes. Measures range from energy recovery from process heat, through the use of renewables, to the efficient utilisation of plots. Our solutions also save both resources and costs, and thus link environmental responsibility to our customers’ corporate success.

Contact person
Thomas Rieger | Sustainability Manager


This is what we’re made of


Icone_Home_1AT HOME IN YOUR INDUSTRY
We specialise in industrial buildings in five different industries. Our extensive experience in these fields mean that we speak exactly your language and understand your production processes. Our industrial buildings are therefore uncompromisingly planned, from the inside out.

Icone_Home_2ALL EXPERTS UNDER ONE ROOF
Our IE industry-specific engineers, architects, planners and logistics specialists all work for a common cause, allowing us to create industrial buildings that convince from any angle. Production processes, technical building services and architecture are thus optimally coordinated.

Icone_Home_3EMPLOYEES AS ENTREPRENEURS
Here at IE Engineering, all employees are stakeholders in the company, meaning you can rely on our teams’ motivation and initiative. Experience a new kind of partnership in cooperation.

Icone_Home_4GUARANTEED SECURITY
Our planning and implementation guarantees give you complete security in terms of costs, deadlines, quality and function. From the initial design idea, through the choice of production technology, operational and logistics planning, to general planning and implementation, we execute all project stages – including in work contract format.


IE_Graphic
IE_Food
IE_Plast
IE_Life_Science
IE_Technology

Projects


Project examples: clever industrial buildings solutions from IE

We’ll give you more than just an architectural shell for your production facility: we enhance the efficiency of your processes – with industrial buildings perfectly matched to your production processes. How we do it? With a lot of brainwork. We are not satisfied with mere run-of-the-mill solutions. Clear competitive advantages await our clients at the end of the process. Here are a few project examples:


  • Logistik
  • Hygiene
  • Nachhaltigkeit

One of the most state-of-the-art facilities for producing dry pet food was erected on a 62,800 sq m area plot in Apolda in the German state of Thuringia. Sustainability played a major role here as well.

As a large brand supplier, Ospelt offers seven product categories – one important branch of this family-run enterprise is pet food. The group invested in the Apolda production facility in Thuringia in 2010 in order to expand the existing pet food range.

A wide range of complete dry food products have been produced since September 2012 on powerful, highly automated machines, which rank amoung the most modern of their type in Europe, following a total construction and commissioning period of 15 months.

Focus on sustainability
The new production facility has numerous sustainability features. One special feature was the aim of investigating the building in line with the US LEED (Leadership in Energy + Environmental Design) label. As a result of the sustainability measures implemented the production building achieved the LEED Gold (Pre-Assessment) with 65 points.

Once the production facility was complete all parties were in agreement: the project can serve as a model for future sustainable industrial buildings.

IE services

  • Master plan
  • General planning
  • Concept, system and detailed design
  • Operational planning/process planning
  • Completion in September 2012

IE Food contact person
Matthias Wilhelm | Project manager

Switzerland’s largest private building site is taking shape: the first report for this unusual construction project is available – with many new photos.

The excavation, which will be filled in the coming months by the largest project in Coop history, is 200 metres long, 100 metres wide and 25 metres deep.

‘Economically and ecologically sensible’

And another feat: more than 350,000 cu. m of gravel were moved – corresponding to excavations for more than 2000 detached houses. ‘Even if these figures sound enormous, the project makes economical and, above all, ecological sense,’ says Leo Ebneter, Coop’s logistics division manager.

IE Food contact person
Theo Louwes | CEO

With federal councillor Johann Schneider-Ammann in attendance, Nestlé officially opened a new production facility in Konolfingen (canton of Berne). Nestlé doubles its capacity with the new plant. IE Food Engineering planned and executed the sustainable and high-quality build in a very short time.

In Konolfingen, Nestlé will produce the newest generation of probiotic baby food in order to meet increasing customer demand in more than 80 countries.

With the grand opening, expansion of the production capacity at this site is complete, following total investments of CHF 400 million and the creation of 370 new jobs over a four-year period.

The factory is equipped with the latest technology and will be developed from the outset to a beacon of eco-friendliness. For example, the new facilities allow CO2 emissions to be reduced by 58%, water consumption by 34% and energy use per tonne of produced goods by 37%. These are remarkable reductions, making Konolfingen a top-class production facility.

IE Food contact person
Theo Louwes | CEO


People


Industry specialists


Theo-Louwes

 

Theo Louwes
CEO
Architect (ETH/SIA AG)

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 82
t.louwes@ie-group.com

Matthias-Wilhelm-

 

Matthias Wilhelm
CEO
Engineer | Architect

Munich facility
T +49 89 82 99 39 22
m.wilhelm@ie-group.com

Stephan-Guby

 

Stephan Guby
CEO
Mechanical engineer (ETH)

Nyon facility
T +41 22 322 19 84
s.guby@ie-group.com

 

Hermann-Aeschbach

 

Dr. Hermann Aeschbach
Freelancer | Senior Consultant
Natural scientist (ETH, biotechnology dept.)
Master’s in Food Science

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 86
h.aeschbach@ie-group.com

Baumgartner-Gsell

 

Thomas Baumgartner Gsell
Architect (ETH/SIA AG)

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 13
t.baumgartner@ie-group.com
 
 

Doris-Bielser

 

Doris Bielser
Food scientist (ETH)

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 31
d.bielser@ie-group.com
 
 

 

Walter-Brunner

 

Walter Brunner
Mechanical engineer

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 22
w.brunner@ie-group.com

Thomas Hanhart

 

Thomas Hanhart
Logistics manager
(Swiss graduate) Logistics manager|Business management

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 45
t.hanhart@ie-group.com

Lisa-Huber
 
Lisa Huber
MSc Facility design and management

Munich facility
T +49 89 82 99 39 39
l.huber@ie-group.com

 

Harald-Jakob

 

Harald Jakob
Operational planning manager

Munich facility
T +49 89 82 99 39 43
h.jakob@ie-group.com

Diego-Lechmann

 

Diego Lechmann
Major projects manager
Architect | Operational engineer (ISZ/SIB)

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 16
d.lechmann@ie-group.com

Staffan-Nordstroem

 

Staffan Nordström
Mechanical engineer (LiTH)

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 24
s.nordstroem@ie-group.com

 

Rainer-Pirkelmann

 

Rainer Pirkelmann
Innovation and development manager
Food technology engineer

Zurich facility
T +41 44 389 86 30
r.pirkelmann@ie-group.com

Salvatore-Scarnera

 

Salvatore Scarnera
Architect (EAUG)

Nyon facility
T +41 22 322 19 83
s.scarnera@ie-group.com

 

Planning partners

 

Only the best for our clients: long-term partners, complete transparency

We rely on the expertise of long-term partners for specialist tasks not forming part of our core services. Processes involving these companies have been honed to perfection as a result of our collaboration on numerous projects. In this way we ensure that our clients enjoy the same high level of quality, regardless of whether IE employees or those of third-party companies are involved.

However, transparency is still important to us. Before the project begins we inform our client about which services we are buying more of and from whom. With regard to the foodstuffs industry in particular, we work with the following companies:

Switzerland

Germany

Wir machen Industriebauten zu Ihrem Wettbewerbsvorteil.
Durch clevere Lösungen speziell für die Lebensmittelindustrie.

IE_food_3

Unser Leistungsspektrum


Wir planen und realisieren Industriegebäude für die Lebensmittelindustrie, bei denen Fertigungsprozesse, Haustechnik und Architektur optimal aufeinander abgestimmt sind. Wir garantieren Ihnen: Selbst bei ungünstigen Grundstücksparzellen und über viele Jahrzehnte gewachsenen Strukturen ist ein gewaltiger Effizienzsprung möglich.

Unsere Stärke: Wir verstehen Ihr Business, denn bei uns arbeiten Architekten und Ingenieure mit langer Erfahrung in der Lebensmittelindustrie. So entsteht ein Industriebau, der diesen Namen verdient: Ein Gebäude, das optimal auf die Produktionsprozesse abgestimmt ist – und damit selbst zur Maschine wird.

 

IE Factsheet  IE Broschüre Food


IE Technology Leistungsspektrum
  • Logistik
  • Hygiene
  • Nachhaltigkeit

Materialfluss, Produktion und Gebäudestruktur im Einklang

IE plant und realisiert effiziente Logistiksysteme für Industriebetriebe. Wir sind nicht an die Produkte bestimmter Anbieter gebunden, sondern suchen als neutraler Partner konsequent nach der besten Lösung für unsere Kunden: ob bei der Auswahl der Fördertechnik, der Lagerhaltungssysteme oder der passenden Software. Durch Betriebs- und Bauplanung aus einer Hand sorgen wir dafür, dass der Waren- und Personenfluss optimal mit den Produktionsprozessen und dem Gebäude abgestimmt ist.

IE Factsheet  IE Spectrum “Logistik”

Kontaktperson
Thomas Hanhart | Leiter Logistik

Produktsicherheit, Prozesse und Gebäude – perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt

IE sorgt für die nötige Hygiene und Reinheit in der Produktion. Ausgehend von Produkt und Prozess erarbeiten wir ganzheitliche Hygiene- und Zonenkonzepte. Bei erhöhten Reinheitsanforderungen planen und bauen wir prozessspezifische Sauber- und Reinräume – auf Wunsch GMP-konform und mit einer vollständigen Qualifizierung. Durch die ganzheitliche Planung stehen Produktsicherheit und Betriebskosten im Fokus.

IE Factsheet  IE Spectrum “Hygiene und Reinraum”

Kontaktperson
Stephan Fischer | Leiter Hygiene & Reinraum

Die Nachhaltigkeitsformel für Industriebauten: 360° statt 08/15

IE entwickelt Konzepte zur Energieeinsparung und zur Schonung der Ressourcen. Wir setzen dort an, wo in Industriebetrieben das grösste Potenzial für mehr Nachhaltigkeit liegt: bei den Produktionsprozessen und der effizienten Gestaltung aller vor- und nachgelagerten Abläufe. Die Maßnahmen reichen von der Energierückgewinnung aus Prozesswärme über den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien bis zur effizienteren Nutzung von Grundstücken. Unsere Lösungen sparen zugleich Ressourcen als auch Kosten und verbinden damit Verantwortung für die Umwelt mit dem unternehmerischen Erfolg unserer Kunden.

IE Factsheet  IE Spectrum “Nachhaltigkeit”

Kontaktperson
Thomas Rieger | Leiter Nachhaltigkeit


 

Das macht uns aus


Icone_Home_1In Ihrer Branche zu Hause
Wir haben uns auf Industriebauten in fünf Branchen spezialisiert. Aufgrund unserer langen Erfahrung in diesen Bereichen sprechen wir genau Ihre Sprache und verstehen Ihre Fertigungsprozesse. Deswegen planen wir Ihren Industriebau konsequent von innen nach aussen.

Icone_Home_2Alle Experten unter einem Dach
Unsere IE Branchen-Ingenieure, Architekten, Fachplaner und Logistiker ziehen am selben Strang. So schaffen wir Industriebauten, die aus jeder Perspektive überzeugen. Fertigungsprozesse, technische Gebäudeausstattung und Architektur sind optimal aufeinander abgestimmt.

Icone_Home_3Mitarbeiter als Unternehmer
Bei uns sind alle Mitarbeiter am Unternehmen beteiligt. Deshalb können Sie sich auf die Motivation und Eigeninitiative unserer Teams verlassen. Erleben Sie eine neue Form partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit.

Icone_Home_4Sicherheit durch Garantien
Durch unsere Garantien für Planung und Realisierung haben Sie die komplette Sicherheit in Sachen Kosten, Termine, Qualität und Funktion. Von der ersten Entwurfsidee über die Auswahl der Produktionstechnik, die Betriebs- und Logistikplanung bis zur Generalplanung und Realisierung übernehmen wir alle Projektschritte – auch in Form eines Werkvertrags.


IE_Graphic
IE_Food
IE_Plast
IE_Life_Science
IE_Technology

Projects


Projektbeispiele: clevere Lösungen von IE im Industriebau

Von uns bekommen Sie mehr als eine architektonische Hülle für Ihre Produktionsanlage: Wir steigern die Effizienz Ihrer Prozesse – durch Industriebauten, die perfekt auf die Fertigungsabläufe abgestimmt sind. Wie uns das gelingt? Mit jeder Menge Köpfchen. Wir geben uns nicht mit Standardlösungen zufrieden. Am Ende stehen klare Wettbewerbsvorteile für unsere Kunden. Hier einige Projektbeispiele.


  • Logistik
  • Hygiene
  • Nachhaltigkeit

Auf einer Grundstücksfläche von 62.800 m² wurde im thüringischen Apolda eines der modernsten Produktionswerke zur Herstellung von Trockentiernahrung erstellt. Auch die Nachhaltigkeit spielte hierbei eine wichtige Rolle.

Ospelt bietet als großer Handelsmarkenlieferant sieben Warengruppen an – ein wichtiger Zweig des Familienunternehmens ist der Bereich Tiernahrung. Zur Erweiterung des bestehenden Petfood-Sortiments investierte die Unternehmensgruppe 2010 in den Produktionsstandort Apolda in Thüringen.

Nach einer Bau- und Inbetriebnahmezeit von insgesamt 15 Monaten wird seit September 2012 auf leistungsfähigen hoch-automatisierten Anlagen, die zu den modernsten ihrer Art in Europa gehören, ein reichhaltiges Sortiment verschiedener Trockenvollnahrungs­produkte produziert.

Nachhaltigkeit im Fokus
Das neue Produktionswerk weist vielfältige Nachhaltigkeitsmerkmale auf. Eine Besonderheit stellte das Ziel dar, das Gebäude nach dem US-Label LEED (Leadership in Energy + Environmental Design) zu untersuchen. Mit den umgesetzten nachhaltigen Maßnahmen erreichte das Produktionsgebäude das “Pre Assessment” nach LEED Gold mit 65 Punkten.

Nach Fertigstellung des Produktionsgebäudes waren sich entsprechend alle einig: das Projekt hat Vorbildcharakter für nachhaltigen Industriebau.

Leistungen IE

  • Masterplan
  • Generalplanung
  • Konzept-, System- und Ausführungsplanung
  • Betriebsplanung/Prozessplanung
  • Fertigstellung September 2012

Kontaktperson IE Food
Matthias Wilhelm | Projektleiter

Die grösste private Baustelle der Schweiz nimmt Konturen an: der erste Bericht dieses aussergewöhnliches Bauvorhabens liegt vor – mit vielen neuen Fotos.

200 Meter lang, 100 Meter breit und 25 Meter tief ist die Grube, in die in den kommenden Monaten das grösste Projekt der Coop-Geschichte hineingebaut wird.

«Ökonomisch und ökologisch sinnvoll»

Und noch ein Superlativ: Über 350 000 m3 Kies wurden bewegt – das entspricht einem Aushub von über 2000 Einfamilienhäusern. «Auch wenn sich die Zahlen gigantisch anhören: Das Projekt ist ökonomisch und vor allem ökologisch sinnvoll», so Leo Ebneter, Leiter Direktion Logistik Coop.

Kontaktperson IE Food
Theo Louwes | Geschäftsführer

In Anwesenheit von Bundesrat Johann Schneider-Ammann hat Nestlé eine neue Produktionsanlage in Konolfingen (Kanton Bern) eingeweiht. Mit der neuen Fabrik verdoppelte Nestlé die Kapazitäten. IE Food Engineering plante und realisierte den nachhaltigen und qualitativ hochwertigen Bau in kürzester Zeit.

In Konolfingen wird Nestlé probiotische Säuglingsnahrung der neuesten Generation produzieren, um die steigende Nachfrage von Kunden in mehr als 80 Ländern zu erfüllen.

Mit der Einweihung wird die Erweiterung der Produktionskapazitäten an diesem Standort abgeschlossen, nachdem über vier Jahre hinweg Investitionen von insgesamt CHF 400 Millionen getätigt und damit 370 neue Arbeitsplätze geschaffen wurden.

Die Fabrik ist mit modernster Technologie ausgestattet und soll von Anfang an zu einem Vorbild in Sachen Umweltfreundlichkeit entwickelt werden. So ermöglichen die neuen Einrichtungen den CO2-Ausstoss um 58 %, den Wasserverbrauch um 34 % und den Energieverbrauch pro Tonne produzierter Ware um 37 % zu reduzieren. Dies sind bemerkenswerte Senkungen, die Konolfingen zu einer Best-in-Class-Produktionsstätte machen.

Kontaktperson IE Food
Theo Louwes | Geschäftsführer


Weitere Projects finden Sie in der Bibliothek

Menschen


Branchenspezialisten


Theo-Louwes

 

Theo Louwes
Geschäftsführer
Dipl. Architekt ETH/SIA

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 82
t.louwes@ie-group.com

Matthias-Wilhelm-

 

Matthias Wilhelm
Geschäftsführer
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) | Architekt

Standort München
T +49 89 82 99 39 22
m.wilhelm@ie-group.com

Stephan-Guby

 

Stephan Guby
Geschäftsführer
Dipl. Ing. Maschinenbau ETH

Standort Nyon
T +41 22 322 19 84
s.guby@ie-group.com

Hermann-Aeschbach

 

Dr. Hermann Aeschbach
Freier Mitarbeiter | Senior Consultant
Dr. sc. techn. ETH Biotech
Master in Food Science

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 86
h.aeschbach@ie-group.com

Doris-Bielser

 

Doris Bielser
Dipl. Lebensmittel-Ing. ETH

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 31
d.bielser@ie-group.com

Walter-Brunner

 

Walter Brunner
Dipl. Maschinen Ing. FH

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 22
w.brunner@ie-group.com

Thomas Hanhart

 

Thomas Hanhart
Leiter Logistik
Eidg. dipl. TS Logistiker | NDS Betriebswirtschaft FH

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 45
t.hanhart@ie-group.com

Lisa-Huber

Lisa Huber
M. Sc. Facility Design und Management

Standort München
T +49 89 82 99 39 39
l.huber@ie-group.com

Harald-Jakob

 

Harald Jakob
Leiter Betriebsplanung

Standort München
T +49 89 82 99 39 43
h.jakob@ie-group.com

Diego-Lechmann

 

Diego Lechmann
Leiter Grossprojekte
Dipl. Architekt FH | Betriebsingenieur ISZ/SIB

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 16
d.lechmann@ie-group.com

Staffan-Nordstroem

 

Staffan Nordström
Dipl. Maschin. Ing. LiTH

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 24
s.nordstroem@ie-group.com

Rainer-Pirkelmann

 

Rainer Pirkelmann
Leiter Innovation und Entwicklung
Dipl.-Ing. Lebensmitteltechnologie

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 30
r.pirkelmann@ie-group.com

Salvatore-Scarnera

 

Salvatore Scarnera
Dipl.-Architekt EAUG

Standort Nyon
T +41 22 322 19 83
s.scarnera@ie-group.com

 

Planungspartner

 

Für unsere Kunden nur das Beste: langjährige Partner, volle Transparenz

Bei speziellen Aufgaben, die nicht zu unseren Kernleistungen zählen, verlassen wir uns auf die Fachkompetenz langjähriger Partner. Aufgrund der Zusammenarbeit in vielen Projekten haben sich die Abläufe mit diesen Unternehmen perfekt eingespielt. So stellen wir sicher, dass unsere Kunden dasselbe hohe Qualitätsniveau erhalten, unabhängig davon ob Mitarbeiter von IE oder von Drittfirmen beteiligt sind.

Dennoch ist uns Transparenz wichtig. Wir informieren unsere Kunden vor Projektbeginn, welche Leistungen wir zukaufen und von wem. Speziell in der Lebensmittelindustrie arbeiten wir mit folgenden Unternehmen zusammen:

Schweiz

Deutschland


Netzwerk

 

Frischekur für unser Know-how

Erfahrungsaustausch wird bei IE nicht nur intern groß geschrieben: Um unser Know-how laufend zu erweitern, engagieren wir uns in einer ganzen Reihe von Verbänden und Instituten. Speziell zu Themen der Lebensmittelindustrie sind wir Mitglied bei folgenden Organisationen: