We turn industrial buildings into your competitive advantage.
Using clever solutions specially developed for the life sciences industry.

IE_LifeScience_Header2

Service


We plan and execute industrial building projects for the life sciences industry, in which production processes, building services and architecture are optimally coordinated. We guarantee that, even on unfavourable plot configurations and for structures organically matured over decades, enormous leaps in efficiency are possible.

Our strength: we understand your business because we employ architects and engineers with a wealth of experience in the pharmaceuticals industry and medical technology under their belts. This enables us to create industrial buildings that deserve the name: a building that is optimally coordinated with the production processes – and thus becomes a machine in its own right.



  • LABS
  • Hygiene
  • LOGISTICS

Sustainable lab concepts are wide-ranging: they offer the flexibility required to be able to cope with future developments and requirements in terms of infrastructure and organisation. A lab needs to represent a viable solution over the long term; after all, buildings, technology and equipment must be regarded as a single entity. And this is exactly where IE Life Science Engineering comes into play: with holistic lab concepts and their implementation.

Contact person
Percy Limacher | CEO

IE ensures the necessary production hygiene and cleanliness are adhered to. We compile holistic hygiene and zoning concepts based on the respective product and process. Where cleanliness demands are stricter, we plan and build process-specific controlled areas and clean rooms – on request GMP-compliant and including complete training. Holistic planning allows us to focus on product reliability and operating costs.

Contact person
Stephan Fischer | Hygiene and Clean Room Manager

IE plans and realises efficient logistics systems for industrial firms. We are not bound by the products of certain suppliers, but rather seek out the best solution for our customers, time and again, in our capacity as a neutral partner: whether it’s about selecting the right conveying system, storage system or the right software. We can offer operational and project planning from under one roof, which enables us to ensure that the flow of materials and personnel is perfectly matched to the production processes and the building in question.

Contact person
Thomas Hanhart | Logistics Manager


This is what we’re made of


Icone_Home_1AT HOME IN YOUR INDUSTRY
We specialise in industrial buildings in five different industries. Our extensive experience in these fields mean that we speak exactly your language and understand your production processes. Our industrial buildings are therefore uncompromisingly planned, from the inside out.

Icone_Home_2ALL EXPERTS UNDER ONE ROOF
Our IE industry-specific engineers, architects, planners and logistics specialists all work for a common cause, allowing us to create industrial buildings that convince from any angle. Production processes, technical building services and architecture are thus optimally coordinated.

Icone_Home_3EMPLOYEES AS ENTREPRENEURS
Here at IE Engineering, all employees are stakeholders in the company, meaning you can rely on our teams’ motivation and initiative. Experience a new kind of partnership in cooperation.

Icone_Home_4GUARANTEED SECURITY
Our planning and implementation guarantees give you complete security in terms of costs, deadlines, quality and function. From the initial design idea, through the choice of production technology, operational and logistics planning, to general planning and implementation, we execute all project stages – including in work contract format.


IE_Graphic
IE_Food
IE_Plast
IE_Life_Science
IE_Technology

Projects


Project examples: clever industrial buildings solutions from IE

We’ll give you more than just an architectural shell for your production facility: we enhance the efficiency of your processes – with industrial buildings perfectly matched to your production processes. How we do it? With a lot of brainwork. We are not satisfied with mere run-of-the-mill solutions. Clear competitive advantages await our clients at the end of the process. Here are a few project examples:


  • Logistik
  • Hygiene
  • Nachhaltigkeit

In order to increase vitamin manufacturing product quality and quantity, DSM Nutritional Products AG renewed the majority of the Bau 325 production building at their site in Sisseln.

Because DSM operates globally and supplies around 50 large customers around the world, cGMP compliance was one of the central demands made in the specifications. In addition, installation of the clean rooms and changing rooms, and the warehouse/shipping new build had to be carried out while operations continued.

IE services

  • General contractor
  • Site management
  • Logistics project management
  • Facility engineering project management
  • Building and facility qualification

IE Life Science contact person
Percy Limacher | CEO

Installation of a clean room (room-in-room system), reorganisation of the packaging area and building refurbishment in line with GMP guidelines.
The Stryker Group is one of the world’s leading suppliers on the orthopaedic and medical technology market. At the Selzach site Stryker Osteosynthesis produces and packages items such as implants and external fixators.

As a general contractor and general planner IE Life Science Engineering was able to extend the almost-sterile packaging area with an additional clean room. Various production areas were relocated step by step to facilitate this.

It was necessary to carry out the conversions during normal operations without interruptions – and directly next to the existing ISO 6/7 clean room. The cramped conditions, time and cost pressure made the situation more difficult.

IE services

  • General planning
  • Operational planning
  • General contractor
  • Site management

Special requirements

  • Fast track in a GMP environment
  • Conversion during ongoing cleanroom operations

IE Life Science contact person
Percy Limacher | CEO

The idyllically located production facility in Wädenswil on Lake Zurich was extended to create additional space for research and development. The result was a research building in which various activities – from the creation of aromas to their application in testing laboratories – are united.

The Frutarom Switzerland Group is part of the globally operating Frutarom with headquarters in Haifa, Israel. Frutarom develops, produces and markets fruit and vegetable preparations, aromas and vegetable extracts at the international level and concentrates on foodstuff, beverage and dietary supplement manufacturers.

Inspiring architecture
As a general contractor and general planner IE Life Science Engineering was able to plan and execute the new research centre. On the one hand the employees should feel at ease in their creative environment, and customers and visitors enjoy the inspiring effect of an aroma in an entirely new and special building on the other. The creative aromas put together are intended to exhilarate people and open up new prospects. The interaction of colours, shapes, light, shade and structures is aimed at creating a sensitising, relaxing atmosphere in an interaction of odours and tastes.

Award: Gute Bauten (good buildings)
In 2008 the research building was officially recognised by the town of Wädenswil. We are proud and extremely pleased with this recognition. It emphasises how IE Architektur is even appreciated by the public.

IE services

  • General planning
  • General contractor

IE Life Science contact person
Percy Limacher | CEO


People


Industry specialists


Percy-Limacher

Percy Limacher
CEO

T +41 44 389 86 74
p.limacher@ie-group.com

Hermann-Aeschbach

Dr. Hermann Aeschbach
Freelancer | Senior Consultant
Natural scientist (ETH Biotech, Master’s in Food Science)

T +41 44 389 86 86
h.aeschbach@ie-group.com

Bernard-Cole

Bernard Cole
Architect( ETH/SIA / LEED AP)

T +41 44 389 86 25
b.cole@ie-group.com

Stephan-Fischer

Stephan Fischer
Hygiene and clean room manager
Chemist | Executive MBA

T +41 44 389 86 14
s.fischer@ie-group.com

 

 

Planning partners

 

Only the best for our clients: long-term partners, complete transparency

We rely on the expertise of long-term partners for specialist tasks not forming part of our core services. Processes involving these companies have been honed to perfection as a result of our collaboration on numerous projects. In this way we ensure that our clients enjoy the same high level of quality, regardless of whether IE employees or those of third-party companies are involved.

However, transparency is still important to us. Before the project begins we inform our client about which services we are buying more of and from whom.

Wir machen Industriebauten zu Ihrem Wettbewerbsvorteil.
Durch clevere Lösungen speziell für die Life Science Industrie.

IE_LifeScience_Header2

Unser Leistungsspektrum


Wir planen und realisieren Industriegebäude für die Life Science Industrie, bei denen Fertigungsprozesse, Haustechnik und Architektur optimal aufeinander abgestimmt sind. Ein Team aus Chemikern, Verfahrensingenieuren und Bauexperten betreut unsere Kunden ganzheitlich: von der ersten Investitionsidee über die Produktions- und Laborplanung bis zur Realisierung.

Unsere Stärke: Wir verstehen Ihr Business und stellen Ihre Produkte und Prozesse in den Mittelpunkt. Wir haben das nötige Know-how und umfangreiche Erfahrung mit Medizinprodukten, der Pharma- und Biotechnologie, medizinischer Nahrung, Babynahrung und Kosmetik, kontrollierten Zonen und Reinräumen, Laboren für F&E, Analytik, Synthese und IPC.

IE Factsheet  IE Life Science Broschüre



  • Labor
  • Hygiene
  • Logistik

Nachhaltige Laborkonzepte sind umfassend. Sie bieten die nötige Flexibilität, um künftigen Entwicklungen und Anforderungen an Infrastruktur und Organisation gewachsen zu sein. Das Labor muss eine langfristig tragfähige Lösung darstellen, denn Gebäude, Technik und Ausstattung müssen gesamthaft betrachtet werden. Genau hier setzt IE Life Science Engineering an: bei der ganzheitlichen Laborplanung und -realisierung.

IE Factsheet  IE Laborflyer “Planung und Realisierung aus einer Hand”

Kontaktperson
Percy Limacher | Geschäftsführer

IE sorgt für die nötige Hygiene und Reinheit in der Produktion. Ausgehend von Produkt und Prozess erarbeiten wir ganzheitliche Hygiene- und Zonenkonzepte. Bei erhöhten Reinheitsanforderungen planen und bauen wir prozessspezifische Sauber- und Reinräume – auf Wunsch GMP-konform und mit einer vollständigen Qualifizierung. Durch die ganzheitliche Planung stehen Produktsicherheit und Betriebskosten im Fokus.

IE Factsheet  IE Spectrum “Hygiene und Reinraum”

Kontaktperson
Stephan Fischer | Leiter Hygiene & Reinraum

IE plant und realisiert effiziente Logistiksysteme für Industriebetriebe. Wir sind nicht an die Produkte bestimmter Anbieter gebunden, sondern suchen als neutraler Partner konsequent nach der besten Lösung für unsere Kunden: ob bei der Auswahl der Fördertechnik, der Lagerhaltungssysteme oder der passenden Software. Durch Betriebs- und Bauplanung aus einer Hand sorgen wir dafür, dass der Waren- und Personenfluss optimal mit den Produktionsprozessen und dem Gebäude abgestimmt ist.

IE Factsheet  IE Spectrum “Logistik”

Kontaktperson
Thomas Hanhart | Leiter Logistik


 

Das macht uns aus


Icone_Home_1In Ihrer Branche zu Hause
Wir haben uns auf Industriebauten in fünf Branchen spezialisiert. Aufgrund unserer langen Erfahrung in diesen Bereichen sprechen wir genau Ihre Sprache und verstehen Ihre Fertigungsprozesse. Deswegen planen wir Ihren Industriebau konsequent von innen nach aussen.

Icone_Home_2Alle Experten unter einem Dach
Unsere IE Branchen-Ingenieure, Architekten, Fachplaner und Logistiker ziehen am selben Strang. So schaffen wir Industriebauten, die aus jeder Perspektive überzeugen. Fertigungsprozesse, technische Gebäudeausstattung und Architektur sind optimal aufeinander abgestimmt.

Icone_Home_3Mitarbeiter als Unternehmer
Bei uns sind alle Mitarbeiter am Unternehmen beteiligt. Deshalb können Sie sich auf die Motivation und Eigeninitiative unserer Teams verlassen. Erleben Sie eine neue Form partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit.

Icone_Home_4Sicherheit durch Garantien
Durch unsere Garantien für Planung und Realisierung haben Sie die komplette Sicherheit in Sachen Kosten, Termine, Qualität und Funktion. Von der ersten Entwurfsidee über die Auswahl der Produktionstechnik, die Betriebs- und Logistikplanung bis zur Generalplanung und Realisierung übernehmen wir alle Projektschritte – auch in Form eines Werkvertrags.


IE_Graphic
IE_Food
IE_Plast
IE_Life_Science
IE_Technology

Projects


Projektbeispiele: clevere Lösungen von IE im Industriebau

Von uns bekommen Sie mehr als eine architektonische Hülle für Ihre Produktionsanlage oder Ihre Laborgeräte: Wir optimieren Ihre Prozesse und steigern so die Effizienz signifikant. Wie uns das gelingt? Mit jeder Menge Köpfchen. Wir geben uns nicht mit Standardlösungen zufrieden. Am Ende stehen klare Wettbewerbsvorteile für unsere Kunden. Hier einige Projektbeispiele.


  • Logistik
  • Hygiene
  • Nachhaltigkeit

Um die Produktqualität und -quantität bei der Herstellung von Vitaminen zu steigern, liess DSM Nutritional Products AG an ihrem Standort in in Sisseln das Produktionsgebäude «Bau 325» weitestgehend erneuern.

Da DSM global tätig ist und rund 50 Grosskundenin aller Welt beliefert, stand cGMP-Compliance als eine der zentralen Forderungen im Pflichtenheft. Zudem musste der Einbau der Reinräume, der Hygienegarderoben und der Neubau des Lager / der Spedition bei laufendem Betrieb erfolgen.

IE Factsheet  IE Life Science “Vitaminschub für die Produktivität mit cGMP-Compliance”

Die Stryker Gruppe ist weltweit einer der führenden Anbieter auf dem orthopädischen und medizintechnischen Markt. Am Standort Selzach produziert und verpackt Stryker Osteosynthesis unter anderem Implantate und externe Fixatoren.

Als Generalunternehmer und Generalplaner durfte IE Life Science Engineering den Bereich der keimarmen Verpackung um einen zusätzlichen Reinraum erweitern. Um dies zu ermöglich, wurden etappenweise verschiedene Produktionsbereiche neu platziert.

Der Umbau musste bei laufendem Betrieb durchgeführt werden, ohne Betriebsunterbruch – und direkt am bestehenden ISO 6/7 Reinraum. Erschwerend hinzu kamen die engen Platzverhältnisse, der Zeit- und Kostendruck.

IE Factsheet  IE Life Science “Mehr Leistung & besser verpackt – im neuen Reinraum”

Der schön gelegene Produktionsstandort in Wädenswil am Zürichsee wurde ausgebaut, um zusätzlichen Raum für Forschung & Entwicklung zu schaffen. Es entstand ein Forschungsgebäude, in dem verschiedene Aktivitäten – von der Kreation von Aromen bis hin zu deren Anwendungen in Versuchslabors – vereinigt werden.

Inspirierende Architektur
Als Generalunternehmer und Generalplaner durfte IE Life Science Engineering das neue Forschungszentrum planen und realisieren. Einerseits sollen sich die Mitarbeitenden in ihrem kreativen Umfeld wohlfühlen, andererseits sollen die Kunden und Besucher die inspirierende Wirkung eines Aromas in einem ganz neuen und speziellen Gebäude erleben. Die kreativen Aroma-Atmosphären sollten begeistern und neue Perspektiven öffnen. Das Zusammenspiel von Farben, Formen, Licht, Schatten und Strukturen sollte im Zusammenspiel mit Geruch und Geschmack eine sensibilisierende Wohlfühlatmosphäre schaffen.

Auszeichnung: “Gute Bauten”
Im Jahr 2008 wurde das Forschungsgebäude von der Stadt Wädenswil offiziell prämiert. Wir sind stolz und freuen uns sehr über die Anerkennung. Sie macht deutlich, dass IE Architektur auch von der Bevölkerung geschätzt wird.

IE Factsheet  IE Life Science “Raum für Forschung & Entwicklung – im neuen Innovation Center”


Weitere Projects finden Sie in der Bibliothek

Menschen


Branchenspezialisten


Percy-Limacher

 

Percy Limacher
Geschäftsführer
Dipl. Kunststoff-Ing. NDS FH
EMBA FH

Standort Zürich
T +41 44 389 86 74
p.limacher@ie-group.com

 

Hermann-Aeschbach

 

Dr. Hermann Aeschbach
Freier Mitarbeiter | Senior Consultant
Dr. sc. techn. ETH Biotech / Master in Food Science

T +41 44 389 86 86
h.aeschbach@ie-group.com

Bernard-Cole

 

Bernard Cole
Dipl. Architekt ETH/SIA / LEED AP

T +41 44 389 86 25
b.cole@ie-group.com

Stephan-Fischer

 

Stephan Fischer
Leiter Hygiene & Reinraum
Dipl. Chemiker FH | Executive MBA

T +41 44 389 86 14
s.fischer@ie-group.com

 

Planungspartner

 

Für unsere Kunden nur das Beste: langjährige Partner, volle Transparenz

Bei speziellen Aufgaben, die nicht zu unseren Kernleistungen zählen, verlassen wir uns auf die Fachkompetenz langjähriger Partner. Aufgrund der Zusammenarbeit in vielen Projekten haben sich die Abläufe mit diesen Unternehmen perfekt eingespielt. So stellen wir sicher, dass unsere Kunden dasselbe hohe Qualitätsniveau erhalten, unabhängig davon ob Mitarbeiter von IE oder von Drittfirmen beteiligt sind.

Dennoch ist uns Transparenz wichtig. Wir informieren unsere Kunden vor Projektbeginn, welche Leistungen wir zukaufen und von wem.